And the Packing Begins…

3 Aug

Well technically it began several weeks ago when I got really excited about moving and felt motivated and productive.  The feeling lasted just long enough to make a trip to Lowe’s to buy a bunch of boxes, but unfortunately the urge passed by the time I got home and realized that I had to fill up all those boxes.  Settling in for an evening of HGTV always seems more attractive than wrapping serving dishes in newspaper.  Tonight I’ve made a little bit of headway, though.  I didn’t actually pack anything, but I did get rid of some old dead potted plants, so that’s one less thing we have to do before the move.

Anyone who’s ever had their house on the market understands what a pain it is having to constantly keep a clean house.  As soon as you think to yourself “we haven’t had a showing in days, I can skip scooping the litter box this morning” sure enough, you’ll get a request for a showing as soon as you leave for work.  You can imagine how quickly we let our house go once we accepted an offer.  Its like we were determined to make up for all that time we spent cleaning instead of being lazy.  The bed went unmade, dishes piled up in the sink, cat hair balled up in the corners and junk mail piled up on the dining room table.  It should be no surprise that watering plants and filling up the bird feeders was one of the first things to go.  I normally enjoy these kinds of things, but I really had no intention of moving all these pots and huge planters, so I let them die a slow and painful death of dehydration.  And those babies were in a screened in porch, so they could forget about the rain saving them.  Here are a few pictures taken in April, when they were just newly-planted babies.

Sweet Potato Vines and Mandevilla

All of those plants had quadrupled in size by June, so moving them would have been a pain.  I did however, save our two smallest, which just so happen to be my favorites.  Our back porch looks so empty now.  Here’s what we see when we look out the back door now:

The Keepers

My fave

I’m going to miss our screened in porch, but I think our new porch will be a nice distraction:

The excitement over adding some cool lighting on this porch has made me lose sleep on more than one occasion.  Two more weeks!!!! 😀

One Response to “And the Packing Begins…”

  1. L August 4, 2011 at 2:25 PM #

    AHHHH i love the new deck! Cannot wait to come over for drinks! Maybe there won’t be a light on or random resident there next time I stop by…

Leave a Reply

