Staining Grout

29 Jul

The majority of floors in our home is laminate wood.  Not really my favorite flooring, but it beats carpet and I love the durability of it.  The dining room however, is tile.  The tile itself doesn’t look too bad, but the grout is too dark.  Not to mention that the previous owners laid the tile and must have taken some short cuts, because several of the tiles are cracked and the grout has cracked and crumbled in spots.

When our house was on the market, I decided it was finally time to find a remedy to a floor that’s been bothering me since day one.  Really I only had intentions of filling in the spots where grout had crumbled, but once I got to Lowes and started looking around, I found that there were a lot more options.  I started with some grout mix in a color called “biscuit.”  I knew that the new grout wouldn’t match the old ugly grout, so I also picked up some grout stain in the same color.  Who knew they made stain for grout?  I sure didn’t.  I went home and got to work.  It took no time at all!  I also camouflaged the cracks in the tile with grout stain and it turned out pretty well.  See for yourself…

Before:

Progress:

After:

The whole process was so easy…I wish I had done it a long time ago.  It only took a few hours to do the whole room.  I can’t wait to do little projects like this one in the new house 🙂 .

Leave a comment