Moving is expensive and so is my chai latte habit.

15 Jul

In one month and two days we’ll be handing our keys off to our home’s new owners.  Over the past few years, we’ve put a lot of money into our house–bathroom counter tops, light fixtures, landscaping, paint, appliances, etc.  We really thought that once we got an offer we’d be finished shelling out money on that house, but then comes the inspection, which then leads to a request for a termite report, which then leads to $1000 towards termite treatment in a house we won’t even be living in anymore.  That doesn’t even include the $125 fee for the report itself.  Spending that much money just to keep a buyer from walking away is pretty painful, but it will all be worth it once we have the keys to our new place.

Spending all this money has made me realize just how much money I waste on other things, such as coffee.  I had imagined that I probably waste about $30 a month on these expensive drinks (specifically, vanilla chai lattes), so this morning I decided to go over my bank statement to figure out just how much I’m wasting.  Talk about a reality check.  Since June 15th, I’ve spent $49.30 on coffee, chai lattes, and other liquid pick-me-ups.  Yikes.  I also treated myself to three pedicures in the past month.  Seriously, the pedicures and lattes have got to stop.  So between now and August 15th (two days before closing), I’m challenging myself to spend $20 or less on coffee/tea and to do my own toes and exfoliation.  We’ll see how it goes.

Speaking of challenges….I’m still trying to figure out how this whole blog thing works, which includes uploading pictures and such.  Hopefully this thing will have a bit more personality in the near future.

2 Responses to “Moving is expensive and so is my chai latte habit.”

  1. L July 15, 2011 at 1:33 PM #

    I feel you on the wasteful spending. In an effort to save money, I haven’t gotten my hair cut in over a year….but I still continue to buy $6.00 drinks at the bar. Disconnect?

    I’m done for a mani/pedi party anytime.

  2. Mr. Kristi Tweed July 29, 2011 at 7:24 PM #

    Or perhaps instead of spending money on coffee, maybe you can put that same amount in a jar and then each month, I can go buy a video game instead?

Leave a Reply

